Affiliated Faculty

The UCLA American Indian Studies Center has affiliated faculty from all over campus.


  • Professor Stephen Acabado
    UCLA Department of Anthropology
    Email: acabado@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Associate Professor Randall Akee (Native Hawaiian)
    Department of Public Policy
    Email: rakee@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Stephen Aron
    Department of History
    Email: saron@history.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Associate Professor Maylei Blackwell (Cherokee)
    Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies
    Email: maylei@chavez.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Assistant Professor Tria Blu Wakpa
    Department of World Arts and Culture/Dance
    Email: triabluwakpa@arts.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Tara Browner (Choctaw)
    Department of Ethnomusicology
    Email: tbrowner@ucla.eduResearch Focus


  • Associate Professor Keith Camacho (Chamorro)
    Department of Asian American Studies
    Email: kcamacho@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Associate Professor Jessica Cattelino
    Department of Anthropology
    Email: jesscatt@anthro.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Lecturer Jaye Darby
    TEP Faculty Advisor
    Department of Education
    Email: jdarby@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Associate Professor Erin Debenport
    Department of Anthropology
    Associate Director of the UCLA American Indian Studies Center
    Email: erindebenport@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Linda Garro
    Department of Anthropology
    Email: lgarro@anthro.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Hanay Geiogamah
    (Member of the Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma)
    Department of Televison, Film, and Theater
    Email: hgeiog@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Mishuana Goeman (Tonawanda Band of Seneca)
    Department of Gender Studies
    Email: goeman@gender.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Patricia Greenfield
    Department of Psychology
    Email: greenfield@psych.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Felicia Hodge (Wailaki Tribe)
    School of Nursing and Public Health
    Email: fhodge@sonnet.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Paul Kroskrity
    Department of Anthropology
    Email: paulvk@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Associate Professor Benjamin Madley
    Department of History
    Email: madley@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Assistant Professor Ananda Marin
    (Choctaw)
    Department of Education
    Email: marin@gseis.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Assistant Professor Kyle T. Mays (Saginaw Anishinaabe)
    Department of African American Studies
    Email: mayskyle@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Vickie Mays
    Department of Psychology
    Email: maysv@nicco.sscnet.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Teresa McCarty
    UCLA Graduate School of Education & Information Studies
    Email: teresa.mccarty@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Nancy Marie Mithlo (Chiricahua Apache)
    Department of Gender Studies
    Email: mithlo@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Assistant Professor Ho’esta Mo’e’hahne
    Department of English
    Email: moehahne@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Distinguished Research Professor Pamela Munro
    Department of Linguistics
    Email: munro@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Peter Nabokov
    Department of World Arts & Cultures/Dance
    Email: pnabokov@arts.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Associate Professor Stella Nair
    Department of Art History
    Email: snair@humnet.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Ellen Pearlstein
    Department of Information Studies
    Email: epearl@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Distinguished Professor Sherene Razack
    Department of Gender Studies
    Email: sherenerazack@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Angela R. Riley (Citizen Potawatomi Nation)
    School of Law
    Email: riley@law.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Dr. Gaspar Rivera-Salgado
    Project Director at the Labor Center
    Email: grsalgado@irle.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Assistant Professor Desi Rodriguez-Lonebear (Northern Cheyenne
    Department of Sociology
    Email: desisr@soc.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Assistant Professor Christine Samuel-Nakamura
    School of Nursing
    Email: cnakamura@sonnet.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Associate Professor Greg Schachner
    Department of Anthropology
    Email: gschachner@anthro.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor David Shorter
    Department of World Arts and Culture/Dance
    Email: shorter@ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Shannon Speed (Chickasaw)
    Department of Gender Studies and Anthropology
    Director of the UCLA American Indian Studies Center
    Email: sspeed@aisc.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Ramesh Srinivasan
    Department of Information Studies
    Email: srinivasan@gseis.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Dr. Wendy Teeter
    Curator of Archaeology, Fowler Museum at UCLA; UCLA Repatriation Coordinator
    Email: wteeter@arts.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Professor Kevin Terraciano
    Department of History
    Email: terra@history.ucla.edu
    Research Focus


  • Associate Professor Aradhna Tripati (Fijian)
    Center for Diverse Leadership in Science Director & P.I., Institute of Environment and Sustainability, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, Earth, Planetary, and Space Science
    Email: atripati@g.ucla.edu
    Research Focus